not that I have any business looking at new mp3 players, on account of no money, but I have been window shopping. my little red nano keeps crashing on me & while it's not totally annoying it's disappointing considering all the hype with how fabulous iPods are. maybe that's just it, it's just hype. anyway...
I've been scoping out the new iRiver clix gen2 which is like having a small TV in your hand. the screen looks awesome and the controls seem user friendly enough. I can't stress how the screen looks sharp. either that or my display settings are too bright. I like that there's no visible buttons per se and how smooth the overall units looks. streamlined so to speak, nevermind the red border on the 8gb model. it's got all the other goodies that iPods don't have - FM radio, in line recording, built in mic, etc. truthfully though, I never really used those features when I had my other iRiver. an iRiver I loved, all blue and black with it's touch strip in the middle.
the other contender on the market is the Creative Zen, no other name danglers, simply Zen. this one is tiny compared to their Zen M or Vision or whatever it was called. on a sidenote, I read somewhere they're not making those models anymore. while the Zen only comes in 3 capacities - 4gb, 8gb, 16gb - it come with an expandable SD slot. for that alone, Zen would win. yes you can get the new iPod video nanos but can you put more stuff in it. honestly, one can buy the 4gb Zen and buy a handful of SD cards - the floppy disks of now - and be quite happy. of course, it comes with the standards of FM radio, etc like above. with the 4gb model reasonably priced on the creative labs website @ $129, you can't get a better deal.
this concludes my stint as a reviewer. I wouldn't be surprised if I had a new mp3 player this Christmas. of course, if the iPhone manages to stick 3G on that sucker and expandable memory [a girl can dream but I'll take one or the other ;-) ] I'd get that. an all in one device is much preferable. but about my beloved BlackJack, which by the way completely stalled much like the blue screen of death on PCs a few weeks ago, what would I do with it? I had to pull the battery out! pleh... oh yeah, Dawn bought a crimson ds Lite. now I have to go get one too so we can play together. hahahaha
well I'm off to watch Bionic Woman then clean up my hard drive. after all that, I've only got 11gb free on the old drive. time to spin up the key. good hunting!
1 comment:
Keep up the good work.
Post a Comment