i temporarily ran away for the weekend, with my sisters. we went to San Francisco.
never been, it was frakkin awesome! tiring, but awesome. hopefully i'll get my directionless ass organized tomorrow and upload the pictures. i'm going to album it up on facebook. i think we got to do the things we wanted to; altho we did not get to actually see alcatraz. apparently tours must be booked ahead of time and in the spirit of spontaneity, um, we didn't do that. aside from flight and hotel, we didn't do much planning. we also did not get to ride the BART nor go take a picture on postcard row where the full house house is, i think. but we did ride cable cars, chinatown was 3 blocks from the hotel [smack dab in union square with the philippine center across the street no less, ha!], we hung out a fisherman's wharf ['hands down, best wharf ever' - tim], got a bay cruise, saw the bridge, even went to sausalito. and we got to board a wwII sub [i wanted to see, i paid fare]; we skipped the jeremiah o'brien warship as that would've eaten precious hours. maybe next time. also, we stupidly walked up Hyde St to get to Lombard 'the crookedest' St. Seriously, what's the degree incline of that street?! 'yes i know, my knees are coming up to my neck now' i told tim after she said the hill got steeper. my knees are still sore actually.... i'm sure dawn wanted to punch us in the face. then of course, we couldn't get a 'real' view of the crooked street so we bounded down the stairs like children hoping to catch santa on christmas morning that we were and took shots from levinworth st. after 10 min of bonafide tourist-type oohs and aahs and snapshots galore, we had to climb back up there 300+ steps back up to Hyde. if dawn had the energy, she would've killed us then.
we cabbed it back to hotel 480 after lombard. the cable car was taking forever and one already passed us. it ended up being cheaper taking the cab. we then [of course! and naturally!] found the yack in the crack on geary thru my phone's internet, hurrah!, and had ourselves some burgers. tim bought 4 car antenna toppers and my burger gave me the sh!ts. wtf, jack?! we got to the airport mad early where i shat some more. then it was back to jersey, on a red eye no less. *sigh*
i promised myself i'll write about this in my paper journal, chronologically anyway. with some doodles maybe. i was too tired then. btw, one cannot speak tagalog in SF as someone will overhear you and actually understand. there are ALOT of filipinos [and previas] in SF. i love it.
so many things to do tomorrow!
parting thoughts, damn it's cold in this room and i'm already wearing socks.
jiselle turned a year on this past sunday. i suck as a friend.
040808/0231 hrs
No comments:
Post a Comment